MnGCA Home MnGCA
Minnesota Geocaching Association

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   User listUser list   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Caching with other Geocachers

View previous topic :: View next topic  
notsmike
Geocacher

PostPosted: Tue Jun 01, 2004 2:43 pm    Post subject: Caching with other Geocachers Reply with quote

I'm new to this sport. When I start a search I print out the hints and the last logs of the cache. I'm elated when I find one and can log it. I have seen where cachers with more than 400 finds are going out together and finding / logging caches. (I must be wrong, but if I could put 3,4 or 5 geocachers at a site, it would increase the chances of a find 100 fold)
What are the opinions on this. I don't want to open a can of worms on this. (or do I) Just fair for all. Again a newbie.
Kitch
Past MnGCA Board

PostPosted: Tue Jun 01, 2004 3:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would tend to agree that it does increase our chances of a find.....but.....

1) We have created a friendship with others....
2) Many times one person finds it ....walks away and laughs that he/she knows where it is.....and won't help.
3) Its always not about the numbers of finding a cache....its just fun.
4) Just another reason to get outta the house.
5) Sometimes you need the help.
6) Carpooling for gas reasons..
7) Can get a little boring to go out by yourself all the time.
rickrich
Geocacher

PostPosted: Tue Jun 01, 2004 3:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Personally, I prefer to cache alone or with my kids, and just meet up with cachers later. But it is fun to cache with others from time to time. It sure does increase the chances of a find, but for me the primary purpose is the walk and to get out of the house.