MnGCA Home MnGCA
Minnesota Geocaching Association
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   User listUser list   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Logging Lakers Out

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MnGCA Forum Index -> MnGCA Cache Games
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
s4xton
Past MnGCA Board


Joined: 23 Mar 2003

Posts: 1070

PostPosted: Tue May 25, 2004 11:47 am    Post subject: Logging Lakers Out Reply with quote

When logging a laker out, one would assume they are logging it out of the cache the system thinks it's currently in.

Would it be possible to auto-fill the waypoint and cache name of the cache the system thinks it's in when logging? If it's incorrect, the user can simply write over the auto-filled waypoint and cache name.

More important than giving the user two less steps, you're also potentially making your data a bit cleaner by preventing another place for misspellings or incorrect information.

Thoughts?

-Aaron
-MNGCA's #1 Feature Requester
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
rickrich
Geocacher


Joined: 06 Jul 2003

Posts: 673

PostPosted: Tue May 25, 2004 11:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There's already a way to do that. It takes six steps, but you can do it.
Markwell
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
s4xton
Past MnGCA Board


Joined: 23 Mar 2003

Posts: 1070

PostPosted: Tue May 25, 2004 11:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rickrich wrote:
There's already a way to do that. It takes six steps, but you can do it.
Markwell


You lost me. Rolling Eyes

-Aaron
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
towlebooth
Past MnGCA Board


Joined: 26 Nov 2002

Posts: 1270

PostPosted: Tue May 25, 2004 12:08 pm    Post subject: Re: Logging Lakers Out Reply with quote

s4xton wrote:
When logging a laker out, one would assume they are logging it out of the cache the system thinks it's currently in.

Would it be possible to auto-fill the waypoint and cache name of the cache the system thinks it's in when logging? If it's incorrect, the user can simply write over the auto-filled waypoint and cache name.

More important than giving the user two less steps, you're also potentially making your data a bit cleaner by preventing another place for misspellings or incorrect information.

Thoughts?

-Aaron
-MNGCA's #1 Feature Requester


If I understand s4xton's request/question - that's a very easy change I would support (and implement).

I really don't understand rickrich's answer (sorry!) Embarassed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
TwentySeven
Geocacher


Joined: 06 May 2004

Posts: 175

PostPosted: Tue May 25, 2004 12:12 pm    Post subject: Re: Logging Lakers Out Reply with quote

s4xton wrote:
When logging a laker out, one would assume they are logging it out of the cache the system thinks it's currently in.

Would it be possible to auto-fill the waypoint and cache name of the cache the system thinks it's in when logging? If it's incorrect, the user can simply write over the auto-filled waypoint and cache name.

More important than giving the user two less steps, you're also potentially making your data a bit cleaner by preventing another place for misspellings or incorrect information.

Thoughts?

-Aaron
-MNGCA's #1 Feature Requester


I agree, Logging 2 or 3 tags and 2 or 3 caches gets confusing and tedious. I could only imagine when the pros go out and do 10-20 a day! People may just say screw it and not log it. Esp if they do not care for the points, or are not really playing the game. my 2 cents.

Shane
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
towlebooth
Past MnGCA Board


Joined: 26 Nov 2002

Posts: 1270

PostPosted: Tue May 25, 2004 6:58 pm    Post subject: Re: Logging Lakers Out Reply with quote

s4xton wrote:
When logging a laker out, one would assume they are logging it out of the cache the system thinks it's currently in.

Would it be possible to auto-fill the waypoint and cache name of the cache the system thinks it's in when logging? If it's incorrect, the user can simply write over the auto-filled waypoint and cache name.

More important than giving the user two less steps, you're also potentially making your data a bit cleaner by preventing another place for misspellings or incorrect information.

Thoughts?

-Aaron
-MNGCA's #1 Feature Requester


Done. Please try it and let me know if that is what you wanted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
rickrich
Geocacher


Joined: 06 Jul 2003

Posts: 673

PostPosted: Tue May 25, 2004 7:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

s4xton wrote:
You lost me. Rolling Eyes

-Aaron

Just trying to mimic the typical response you would get at the pay site should you dare to ask for an improvement..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
s4xton
Past MnGCA Board


Joined: 23 Mar 2003

Posts: 1070

PostPosted: Tue May 25, 2004 10:45 pm    Post subject: Re: Logging Lakers Out Reply with quote

towlebooth wrote:
Done. Please try it and let me know if that is what you wanted.


Perfect. Thanks dude. Should make things easier for everyone - not just me.

-Aaron
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
Rouster
Geocacher


Joined: 04 Jan 2004

Posts: 104

PostPosted: Tue May 25, 2004 10:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Just trying to mimic the typical response you would get at the pay site should you dare to ask for an improvement..


My eyes are watering, but the milk is still in place.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
s4xton
Past MnGCA Board


Joined: 23 Mar 2003

Posts: 1070

PostPosted: Tue May 25, 2004 11:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Whoops - did some more testing.

For instance, I went to Heron:

http://mngca.org/lakers/laker.php?id=32

Hit "Log it" just to see if the feature consistently worked...

...and it autofilled the MNGCA Event instead of the current cache it's in, Bowl of Fun.

-Aaron
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
towlebooth
Past MnGCA Board


Joined: 26 Nov 2002

Posts: 1270

PostPosted: Tue May 25, 2004 11:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pulled out the change. I'll tweak it tomorrow. . .

Mad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
towlebooth
Past MnGCA Board


Joined: 26 Nov 2002

Posts: 1270

PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2004 6:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

towlebooth wrote:
Pulled out the change. I'll tweak it tomorrow. . .

Mad


I think it's fixed now. Amazing how much easier it is to code at 7PM vs. midnight.

s4xton, please test it out. (those that get what they ask for must help Wink )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
s4xton
Past MnGCA Board


Joined: 23 Mar 2003

Posts: 1070

PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2004 7:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Seems to work great, now.

Thanks.

-Aaron
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MnGCA Forum Index -> MnGCA Cache Games All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
Geocaching Cache Icons, Copyright 2009, Groundspeak Inc. All rights reserved. Used with Permission.