MnGCA Home MnGCA
Minnesota Geocaching Association

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   User listUser list   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

A good way to learn?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
k9soldier
Geocacher

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 11:22 pm    Post subject: A good way to learn? Reply with quote

i was wondering how people feel about geocaching videos, as a newbie its help me learn about different type of hides, this is one of my favorites http://youtu.be/DHY9cHqMwoo I see allot of comments on logs saying so and so had to call geocacher3??? to find cache ect... so as a newbie i don't have that.. so what do you all think?
spd2662
Geocacher

PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2012 7:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have mixed feelings on these as most people probably do. I think it's cool to see other types of caches out there but I don't know that I would like any of my hides shown to everyone. It would be flattering to have a hide that someone thought was cool enough to post until everyone figured out where the person making the videos was from. One of these guys got himself banned from Groundspeak for a while because of complaints from cache hiders that he was posting spoilers. If you watch enough of these you'll come across his youtube channel.
WestSideDaddy
Past MnGCA Board

PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2012 8:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have to say I really love them. I especially like the British guy "Geocachespoilers" http://www.youtube.com/user/geocachespoilers

As long as they aren't disclosing what the GC # is, or showing the coords, I think it's a great way to share.

At least that's my opinion.
Hal-oween
Geocacher

PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2012 9:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would rather be surprised out in the field.
butcherandswimmer
Geocacher