MnGCA Home MnGCA
Minnesota Geocaching Association
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   User listUser list   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

GSAK upgrade (7.7.0.109)

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MnGCA Forum Index -> Tech Talk
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Pear Head
Past MnGCA President


Joined: 04 Apr 2004

Posts: 5693

PostPosted: Sun Mar 21, 2010 7:56 pm    Post subject: GSAK upgrade (7.7.0.109) Reply with quote

I just upgraded my GSAK tonight to the latest and greatest (7.7.0.109). Clyde switched the entire program over to a new database structure (using SQLite).

I am amazed at how much faster the new version runs compared to the old one. I knew from reading stuff a couple of months ago that this was going to help improve efficiency when it came out, but it's an amazing difference.

It's probably not too noticeable on a smaller database, but if yours is larger then you'll probably notice the difference (I have about 38500 waypoints and just over 1.5 million logs in mine).
_________________
Hmm...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
Pear Head
Past MnGCA President


Joined: 04 Apr 2004

Posts: 5693

PostPosted: Sun Mar 21, 2010 7:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I will note too that the upgrade process itself took quite a while (I'm guessing mine was close to two hours for it to optimize the database).

For a while it just sat at the startup splash screen and didn't offer me any information about what was going on - something to be aware of as you upgrade.
_________________
Hmm...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
sir_zman
Past MnGCA Board


Joined: 30 Jun 2005

Posts: 1763

PostPosted: Mon Mar 22, 2010 10:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

After reading your post, I did an update last night, my update took about 1 minute, and the loading screen was only up for a few seconds...but I only have two databases, one with 2000 caches, and one with 500 caches.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
jerpete
Geocacher


Joined: 11 Jun 2007

Posts: 29

PostPosted: Mon Mar 22, 2010 4:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I upgraded to the beta version last week and it took about 15 minutes, I have about 20,000 caches in my db's. Upgrading from the beta to the release took no time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MnGCA Forum Index -> Tech Talk All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
Geocaching Cache Icons, Copyright 2009, Groundspeak Inc. All rights reserved. Used with Permission.