| View previous topic :: View next topic |
| Author |
Message |
andrewmcc Past MnGCA Board

Joined: 29 Jul 2007
Posts: 979
|
Posted: Sun Aug 02, 2009 7:11 pm Post subject: cacherstats |
|
|
Has anyone had a problem with cacherstats.com? Google blocked it today for me. I got a message that said:
| Quote: |
Safe Browsing
Diagnostic page for cacherstats.com
What is the current listing status for cacherstats.com?
Site is listed as suspicious - visiting this web site may harm your computer.
Part of this site was listed for suspicious activity 1 time(s) over the past 90 days.
What happened when Google visited this site?
Of the 3 pages we tested on the site over the past 90 days, 3 page(s) resulted in malicious software being downloaded and installed without user consent. The last time Google visited this site was on 2009-07-30, and the last time suspicious content was found on this site was on 2009-07-30.
Malicious software is hosted on 1 domain(s), including web-analyze.info/.
This site was hosted on 1 network(s) including AS32392 (OPENTRANSFER).
Has this site acted as an intermediary resulting in further distribution of malware?
Over the past 90 days, cacherstats.com did not appear to function as an intermediary for the infection of any sites.
Has this site hosted malware?
No, this site has not hosted malicious software over the past 90 days.
How did this happen?
In some cases, third parties can add malicious code to legitimate sites, which would cause us to show the warning message. |
_________________ Dinnae fash yersel (don't worry yourself) |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
speedysk1 Past MnGCA Board

Joined: 29 Oct 2007
Posts: 1991 Location: Mound MN
|
Posted: Sun Aug 02, 2009 7:23 pm Post subject: Re: cacherstats |
|
|
| andrewmcc wrote: |
Has anyone had a problem with cacherstats.com? Google blocked it today for me. I got a message that said:
| Quote: |
Safe Browsing
Diagnostic page for cacherstats.com
What is the current listing status for cacherstats.com?
Site is listed as suspicious - visiting this web site may harm your computer.
Part of this site was listed for suspicious activity 1 time(s) over the past 90 days.
What happened when Google visited this site?
Of the 3 pages we tested on the site over the past 90 days, 3 page(s) resulted in malicious software being downloaded and installed without user consent. The last time Google visited this site was on 2009-07-30, and the last time suspicious content was found on this site was on 2009-07-30.
Malicious software is hosted on 1 domain(s), including web-analyze.info/.
This site was hosted on 1 network(s) including AS32392 (OPENTRANSFER).
Has this site acted as an intermediary resulting in further distribution of malware?
Over the past 90 days, cacherstats.com did not appear to function as an intermediary for the infection of any sites.
Has this site hosted malware?
No, this site has not hosted malicious software over the past 90 days.
How did this happen?
In some cases, third parties can add malicious code to legitimate sites, which would cause us to show the warning message. |
|
Same for me. Don't know what's going on. Weird. _________________ Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Jonas Past MnGCA Board
Joined: 30 Nov 2005
Posts: 672 Location: Chaska, MN
|
Posted: Sun Aug 02, 2009 11:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Interesting.
The cacherstats.com website seems to be hosted by IXwebhosting which have continously been targeted by attackers who have managed to insert malicious redirections on their servers. http://blog.riskythinking.com/2008/11/my-website-got-hacked.html is one.
Maybe that is what happened here as well.
-Jonas |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
knowschad Geocacher

Joined: 20 Jun 2005
Posts: 448 Location: South St Paul
|
Posted: Mon Aug 03, 2009 2:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I recall seeing a recent post or two on the national forums about that issue. I didn't bother reading them, because it wasn't affecting me, but I'll see if I can find them again and let you know.
Edited to add:
Not much help, but here's the thread _________________ Alcohol & calculus don't mix. Don't drink & deriv |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Jonas Past MnGCA Board
Joined: 30 Nov 2005
Posts: 672 Location: Chaska, MN
|
Posted: Mon Aug 03, 2009 5:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I sent him an email yesterday and got this response:
| Grand High Pobah wrote: |
Hi Jonas,
Yes I am aware that Google has found a problem with a couple of the many webpages that I have. I have researched the problem and determined that the cause is a script that is running at the webhosting company that is injecting the malwasre into those webpages. I have opened a trouble ticket with them and have fixed the two webpages. You can access the clean webpages by entering http://www.cacherstats.com in the address line of your browser, not the google search part.
Cache on,
Grand High Pobah/Brady Nellis
=========================================== |
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
andrewmcc Past MnGCA Board

Joined: 29 Jul 2007
Posts: 979
|
Posted: Mon Aug 03, 2009 11:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| Jonas wrote: |
I sent him an email yesterday and got this response:
| Grand High Pobah wrote: |
Hi Jonas,
Yes I am aware that Google has found a problem with a couple of the many webpages that I have. I have researched the problem and determined that the cause is a script that is running at the webhosting company that is injecting the malwasre into those webpages. I have opened a trouble ticket with them and have fixed the two webpages. You can access the clean webpages by entering http://www.cacherstats.com in the address line of your browser, not the google search part.
Cache on,
Grand High Pobah/Brady Nellis
=========================================== |
|
wow Jonas, way to go. _________________ Dinnae fash yersel (don't worry yourself) |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
minnesotabrad Past MnGCA President

Joined: 03 Mar 2007
Posts: 1260 Location: Brooklyn Center MN
|
Posted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 9:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| Getting the warning again. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Jonas Past MnGCA Board
Joined: 30 Nov 2005
Posts: 672 Location: Chaska, MN
|
Posted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 10:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Watch out with the cacher stats website.
I just went to it with both IE and Chrome and typed in the URL directly (as opposed to going to it from google) and both times some component on the website attempted to infect my computer. It looked like it was not his own webpages that were infected but one of his hitcounters.
I would stay away from that site for a few days.
-Jonas |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
spinowner Geocacher
Joined: 25 Nov 2004
Posts: 560 Location: Plymouth, MN
|
Posted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 10:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I got the warning just now as well. Hopefully the fact that I'm on a Mac will prevent infection. _________________ Sig line? I don't need no stinking sig line! |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
bflentje Geocacher

Joined: 29 May 2006
Posts: 3655
|
Posted: Wed Aug 12, 2009 7:41 am Post subject: |
|
|
| spinowner wrote: |
| I got the warning just now as well. Hopefully the fact that I'm on a Mac will prevent infection. |
Another thread.. but it's a myth that Macs have little risk of being infected with a virus or other malware.  |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
speedysk1 Past MnGCA Board

Joined: 29 Oct 2007
Posts: 1991 Location: Mound MN
|
Posted: Fri Aug 14, 2009 5:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Man, it's still down or on the blocked list anyway. _________________ Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
spinowner Geocacher
Joined: 25 Nov 2004
Posts: 560 Location: Plymouth, MN
|
Posted: Mon Aug 17, 2009 7:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
I just visited the site and no warning popped up. I hope that means the problem has been cleared up. _________________ Sig line? I don't need no stinking sig line! |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Bunganator Geocacher

Joined: 09 Apr 2008
Posts: 276
|
Posted: Mon Aug 17, 2009 10:14 am Post subject: |
|
|
| spinowner wrote: |
| I just visited the site and no warning popped up. I hope that means the problem has been cleared up. |
I still have a warning |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Jam3s Geocacher

Joined: 26 Oct 2008
Posts: 842
|
Posted: Mon Aug 17, 2009 10:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
| Bunganator wrote: |
| spinowner wrote: |
| I just visited the site and no warning popped up. I hope that means the problem has been cleared up. |
I still have a warning |
Yep, me too! _________________ ~~ I was told all I needed was a GPS. I wanted everything else. ~~ |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
spinowner Geocacher
Joined: 25 Nov 2004
Posts: 560 Location: Plymouth, MN
|
Posted: Mon Aug 17, 2009 8:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
No warning at work on a PC via Internet Explorer. Warning at home on a Mac via Firefox. Any explanation from someone who understands why? _________________ Sig line? I don't need no stinking sig line! |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|