MnGCA Home MnGCA
Minnesota Geocaching Association

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   User listUser list   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Biking and caching

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Bunganator
Geocacher

PostPosted: Mon Jun 08, 2009 8:48 pm    Post subject: Biking and caching Reply with quote

My brother recently showed this to me and I'm hoping others can get some use out of it too.

Being a poor college student, I do a lot of my caching by bike. Over the past 2 years, I have been looking for ways to make the planning of caching and biking trips a little easier, and I finally found the ticket:

http://www.mapmyride.com/

The most difficult planning has been bike trails where it is tough to do a "cache along a route", especially circles like the Grand Rounds tour. With this website, you can search existing routes or create your own. You can then save it as a .gpx file and download it directly to your GPSr. What is even better is that you can download it as a .kml Google Earth file and upload it to the "caches along a route" page. This allows you to search for caches within x miles or a route that is completely customized instead of just a typical start to finish route.
TheGilby4
Geocacher

PostPosted: Mon Jun 08, 2009 9:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Great site. Thanks for sharing.
Kurt Franke
Past MnGCA Board

PostPosted: Tue Jun 09, 2009 10:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also ride bike and geocache whenever I can. I wasn't aware of this site. Thanks for sharing it.

Kurt
Jam3s
Geocacher

PostPosted: Tue Jun 09, 2009 11:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I might have to start as I am seeing the cost of gas skyrocket!
Bunganator
Geocacher

PostPosted: Tue Jun 09, 2009 10:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote