MnGCA Home MnGCA
Minnesota Geocaching Association

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   User listUser list   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Most Desired GPSr Features in one Unit
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
LucidOndine
Past MnGCA President

PostPosted: Thu Jul 17, 2008 3:47 pm    Post subject: Most Desired GPSr Features in one Unit Reply with quote

I've often thought about the perfect geocaching tool to be used exclusively for geocaching, and wondered if I was a designer for Garmin-- what kinds of features it would have. Some of the features are already out and in the woods, so-to-speak, but often times the features aren't on one device, or it doesn't behave in a manner that is conducive to the average geocacher.

That being said if you were a designer, what kinds of things would you want?
LucidOndine
Past MnGCA President

PostPosted: Thu Jul 17, 2008 3:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I like the idea of paperless caching as handled by the Colorado. I also think the Colorado does an excellent job integrating topographic and city maps. The topo shading is OK but there is room for improvement, perhaps.

I wish there was a pairing function that would work over great distances so that paired devices could talk to each other over a distance of a few miles or so to figure out where others are. This would be awesome for competitive geocaching events like MOGA and the Deadmen caching event that was held a few years back.

Not every geocache is memorable, but everyone still has to log them regardless. It'd be nice to have a small camera built into the device with geotagging.