MnGCA Home MnGCA
Minnesota Geocaching Association

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   User listUser list   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

New to Geocaching, Have some questions.

View previous topic :: View next topic  
goucher
Geocacher

PostPosted: Tue Sep 23, 2003 4:33 pm    Post subject: New to Geocaching, Have some questions. Reply with quote

I am new to geocaching (4 finds) and would like to know a few things:

1) When I am going off the path, am I breaking any park regulations? I have not yet determined if geocaching is welcomed by the parks, or if they think that we are causing damage.

2) When someone asks or challenges what you are doing, what do you say.

3) Being a female, am I asking for trouble tromping in the woods alone. After visiting McCullah Park and Swamp Thing, I read about the wierdo in the swamp and it made me think twice about this. Do you often meet strange people out there?

I have really been enjoying this new activity, and welcome any advice, because I really don't know what I am doing yet. Embarassed
Marsha and Silent Bob
Past MnGCA President

PostPosted: Tue Sep 23, 2003 6:30 pm    Post subject: Re: New to Geocaching, Have some questions. Reply with quote

goucher wrote:
1) When I am going off the path, am I breaking any park regulations? I have not yet determined if geocaching is welcomed by the parks, or if they think that we are causing damage.

This depends per park system (unfortunately) but the MNGCA is trying to work with these park's to make sure that we fit within guidelines that they have set.

Hopefully they will all make geocaching-friendly rules so that we can continue in our adventures.

Quote:
2) When someone asks or challenges what you are doing, what do you say.