MnGCA Home MnGCA
Minnesota Geocaching Association
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   User listUser list   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Route Caches Using Google Earth
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MnGCA Forum Index -> Tech Talk
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
WoodsWoman
Geocacher


Joined: 23 Apr 2003

Posts: 18

PostPosted: Thu Jul 06, 2006 5:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did all of that in just the order you suggested.
My route will not upload to Google Earth.
_________________
WoodsWoman
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ScubaAl
Geocacher


Joined: 24 Apr 2005

Posts: 42

PostPosted: Thu Jul 06, 2006 5:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

darus67 wrote:
Here's what I just did to create and upload a route from Google Earth:

Launch Google Earth

Click on the "Directions" tab

Enter start and destination cities.
In my test I used Duluth, MN and Grand Portage, MN

Once the route is displayed, find the blue and white swirly Google Earth logo and route description at the very top of the turn-by-turn list, on the left side of the screen.

Right click on this description. A menu should pop up.
Select "Save As" from this menu. Make sure you set the file type to .kml
Give a filename and save the file.

Now go to the "Caches along a route" web page at geocaching.com and upload the file you just saved.

I made my route public. Search on the keyword "duluth" and it should show up in the list.


Thanks for the help. I had done just as shown above, except for one small mistake. I did not realize that when I saved my route I had a choice as to how the file would be saved. KML/KMZ, Selected KML and everything work just as it should.
Thanks again for your help. Cache On, Al Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pez Tonto
Geocacher


Joined: 10 Jul 2005

Posts: 15

PostPosted: Thu Jul 06, 2006 6:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

WoodsWoman wrote:
I did all of that in just the order you suggested.
My route will not upload to Google Earth.

"
Not sure what you mean by "upload to Google Earth". You create the route in Google Earth and "Save As" KML to your PC file system. You then upload the KML to GC.com and then create a PQ from the route using GC.com.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ScubaAl
Geocacher


Joined: 24 Apr 2005

Posts: 42

PostPosted: Thu Jul 06, 2006 6:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

WoodsWoman wrote:
I did all of that in just the order you suggested.
My route will not upload to Google Earth.


I think you and I had the same problem in the begining. I did everything correctly, or so I thought. The only thing I did wrong was when I went to save the route I created.
When you go to save your route a box appears on your screen. This is where you name your route. Below this line you see kmz, click on it and you will see kml. Select kml save the file and give it another try.
Thats what work for me, hope it works for you. Good Luck.
Cache On, Al
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WoodsWoman
Geocacher


Joined: 23 Apr 2003

Posts: 18

PostPosted: Thu Jul 06, 2006 7:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Exactly what I did.
_________________
WoodsWoman
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
IBcrashen
Geocacher


Joined: 17 Dec 2002

Posts: 246

PostPosted: Thu Jul 06, 2006 8:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any chance of making this route public so others can take a look at it and see if the problem is on your end or just the route?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pfalstad
Geocacher


Joined: 02 Feb 2006

Posts: 1011

PostPosted: Thu Jul 06, 2006 9:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What is the name of the file you are uploading? I just tried selecting some random file instead of a .kml and clicking "Upload"; it didn't really gave me an error message. It just showed me "Your Saved Routes" with an empty list. (Even though I have one saved.) Is that what's happening? The site's error handling needs work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
WoodsWoman
Geocacher


Joined: 23 Apr 2003

Posts: 18

PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 5:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, that is exactly what is happening. Thanks. I'm glad it happened to someone else--I was beginning to think it was just me (I).
_________________
WoodsWoman
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
darus67
Geocacher


Joined: 13 Jan 2006

Posts: 64

PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 11:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What kind of computer do you have,
what version of Google Earth are you using,
and what web browser are you using?
_________________
Mustang Dreamin'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WoodsWoman
Geocacher


Joined: 23 Apr 2003

Posts: 18

PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 11:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Computer: Dell Windows XP Pro
Browser: OE, Version 6
Google Earth: 3.0.0762
_________________
WoodsWoman
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pfalstad
Geocacher


Joined: 02 Feb 2006

Posts: 1011

PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 6:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What is the full name of the file you are uploading?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
WoodsWoman
Geocacher


Joined: 23 Apr 2003

Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sat Jul 08, 2006 6:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did my own route--for a trip to Colorado--in daily segments of about 400 miles. Named one of them "Des Moines to North Platte" and saved them as a .kml. Then when I uploaded to Google Earth, I just got a blank box. I tried a shorter route--Aurora to Tower--thinking that the other one was too long. Same thing.
_________________
WoodsWoman
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pfalstad
Geocacher


Joined: 02 Feb 2006

Posts: 1011

PostPosted: Sat Jul 08, 2006 9:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm, strange. Worked for me. I saved Des Moines to North Platte as a public route.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
darus67
Geocacher


Joined: 13 Jan 2006

Posts: 64

PostPosted: Sat Jul 08, 2006 12:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bizarre.

Are you using any sort of filtering, or firewall, or ad blocking software?

There's got to be something unique about your setup thats different from what the rest of us have.
_________________
Mustang Dreamin'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pez Tonto
Geocacher


Joined: 10 Jul 2005

Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sun Jul 09, 2006 8:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Woodswomen. Note that "routes need to be under 500 miles and less then 500 points". It seems like you are doing everything right and it sounds like you were planning a lengthy trip, so perhaps this limitation is the problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MnGCA Forum Index -> Tech Talk All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
Geocaching Cache Icons, Copyright 2009, Groundspeak Inc. All rights reserved. Used with Permission.