MnGCA Home MnGCA
Minnesota Geocaching Association
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   User listUser list   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Enabling caches for publication

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MnGCA Forum Index -> General
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
MN.Fruitcake
Minnesota Reviewer


Joined: 18 Oct 2010

Posts: 35

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2011 4:33 pm    Post subject: Enabling caches for publication Reply with quote

It's probably important to note that last month the little box to "enable listing" on the cache hide form, which used to be checked by default when you submitted a new listing, is no longer checked by default.

When you submit a new listing, you need to make sure that it's enabled. If the cache isn't enabled then I won't see it, no matter how long you wait.

The easiest way to know if it's enabled is to look at your cache page. It will say near the top (between the cache name and coordinates) if it's not enabled: "The reviewers will not see this listing until you enable it."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
King Boreas
Geocacher


Joined: 16 Dec 2002

Posts: 2440

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2011 4:56 pm    Post subject: Re: Enabling caches for publication Reply with quote

MN.Fruitcake wrote:
the little box to "enable listing" on the cache hide form, which used to be checked by default when you submitted a new listing, is no longer available



You have to post an "enable" log.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Pear Head
Past MnGCA President


Joined: 04 Apr 2004

Posts: 5697

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2011 5:02 pm    Post subject: Re: Enabling caches for publication Reply with quote

King Boreas wrote:
MN.Fruitcake wrote:
the little box to "enable listing" on the cache hide form, which used to be checked by default when you submitted a new listing, is no longer available



You have to post an "enable" log.


It's right below the box for the coordinates (the box with the map).
_________________
Hmm...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
kc9gbo
Geocacher


Joined: 26 Jun 2009

Posts: 158

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2011 7:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know a couple people that it snuck up on and they waited and waited for their caches to publish. After emailing the Wis. reviewer they were informed of the change.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
King Boreas
Geocacher


Joined: 16 Dec 2002

Posts: 2440

PostPosted: Sat Nov 05, 2011 12:35 am    Post subject: Re: Enabling caches for publication Reply with quote

Pear Head wrote:
King Boreas wrote:
MN.Fruitcake wrote:
the little box to "enable listing" on the cache hide form, which used to be checked by default when you submitted a new listing, is no longer available



You have to post an "enable" log.


It's right below the box for the coordinates (the box with the map).


You are correct, sir. Sorry ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Sharknose Bunnies
Geocacher


Joined: 29 Jun 2009

Posts: 303

PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2011 7:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I like the new way. +1 for change!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
knowschad
Geocacher


Joined: 20 Jun 2005

Posts: 470

PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2011 3:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sharknose Bunnies wrote:
I like the new way. +1 for change!


I found it odd, though, that they made that change without notifying anybody. It wasn't in release notes, for sure. I learned about it from a Groundspeak forum post when a user asked about it, and after several other posts, a reviewer finally came in with the answer.
_________________
Alcohol & calculus don't mix. Don't drink & deriv
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ST11
Geocacher


Joined: 04 Jul 2009

Posts: 159

PostPosted: Sat Nov 12, 2011 8:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

knowschad wrote:
Sharknose Bunnies wrote:
I like the new way. +1 for change!


I found it odd, though, that they made that change without notifying anybody. It wasn't in release notes, for sure. I learned about it from a Groundspeak forum post when a user asked about it, and after several other posts, a reviewer finally came in with the answer.


Those goofy IT people are all like that. You know how bikers have that logo "Live to Ride" well IT people have one that says "Live to Upgrade" Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sharknose Bunnies
Geocacher


Joined: 29 Jun 2009

Posts: 303

PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2011 5:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

knowschad wrote:
Sharknose Bunnies wrote:
I like the new way. +1 for change!


I found it odd, though, that they made that change without notifying anybody. It wasn't in release notes, for sure. I learned about it from a Groundspeak forum post when a user asked about it, and after several other posts, a reviewer finally came in with the answer.


They probably ran out of space in the weekly bulletin because it was taken up by announcements about Geocaching Challenges.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MnGCA Forum Index -> General All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
Geocaching Cache Icons, Copyright 2009, Groundspeak Inc. All rights reserved. Used with Permission.