MnGCA Home MnGCA
Minnesota Geocaching Association
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   User listUser list   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Sick of paying through the nose for Comcast Cable TV
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MnGCA Forum Index -> Twin Cities Metro Area
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tonkaMN
MnGCA Board


Joined: 10 Jun 2009

Posts: 874

PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2011 11:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

GeoPierce wrote:
Anyone else using some type of DVR setup besides the one that Comcast offers?


We have Directv and we love it. We have 3 DVR's and about 250 channels. It cost about $80 a month. We lose service for a total of about 10 minutes a year due to heavy rain or snow. When that happens, we just watch something from the dvr.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rustynails
Geocacher


Joined: 27 Oct 2009

Posts: 788

PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2011 10:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NOSNOW wrote:
We have Comcast Basic-Basic-Basic service + internet. The only reason we have basic service (local channels only) is that itís cheaper to have it then not to. We have a DVR that we got somewhere, maybe Ultimate, about 6 years ago. Which work great, it also work with an antenna.


That's another scam. You should be able to buy a DVR instead of renting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GeoPierce
Geocacher


Joined: 16 Nov 2005

Posts: 1657

PostPosted: Sun May 22, 2011 7:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So I downgraded Comcast to basic cable (no DVR) and bought a Tivo to record shows. I'm setting it up and was going to use an old Linksys wireless B bridge to connect to my Linksys wireless N router but it's not working. Any network pros out there know if I can use wireless B with wireless N? I know wireless G is compatible with N but not sure about B.
_________________
Tupperware doesn't belong in the kitchen!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Pear Head
Past MnGCA President


Joined: 04 Apr 2004

Posts: 5692

PostPosted: Sun May 22, 2011 7:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

GeoPierce wrote:
So I downgraded Comcast to basic cable (no DVR) and bought a Tivo to record shows. I'm setting it up and was going to use an old Linksys wireless B bridge to connect to my Linksys wireless N router but it's not working. Any network pros out there know if I can use wireless B with wireless N? I know wireless G is compatible with N but not sure about B.


I use DD-WRT on of one my routers to bridge. I do know that both routers have to be in the same mode (I haven't tried to bridge like you're doing between modes, but I do recall reading it somewhere). You also loose half the bandwidth of the router when you do it I believe....

Google DD-WRT if you're not familiar with it.
_________________
Hmm...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
qwerty2582
Past MnGCA Board


Joined: 03 Apr 2009

Posts: 458

PostPosted: Sun May 22, 2011 8:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

GeoPierce wrote:
So I downgraded Comcast to basic cable (no DVR) and bought a Tivo to record shows. I'm setting it up and was going to use an old Linksys wireless B bridge to connect to my Linksys wireless N router but it's not working. Any network pros out there know if I can use wireless B with wireless N? I know wireless G is compatible with N but not sure about B.


I've got a spare TiVo wireless adapter I could sell you... Make life easier for you...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GeoPierce
Geocacher


Joined: 16 Nov 2005

Posts: 1657

PostPosted: Sun May 22, 2011 8:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

qwerty2582 wrote:
I've got a spare TiVo wireless adapter I could sell you... Make life easier for you...

Awesome, do you accept cache containers and/or geocoins? Smile I think they were $50 at Best Buy? Is it wireless G or N?
_________________
Tupperware doesn't belong in the kitchen!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
GeoPierce
Geocacher


Joined: 16 Nov 2005

Posts: 1657

PostPosted: Sun May 22, 2011 8:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've never heard of that before but it sounds like it is for Linux? Or is it Linux software you install on the router? I just need to connect the Tivo and my wife would be mad if I brought down the whole network. Smile

Pear Head wrote:
I use DD-WRT on of one my routers to bridge. I do know that both routers have to be in the same mode (I haven't tried to bridge like you're doing between modes, but I do recall reading it somewhere). You also loose half the bandwidth of the router when you do it I believe....

Google DD-WRT if you're not familiar with it.

_________________
Tupperware doesn't belong in the kitchen!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MnGCA Forum Index -> Twin Cities Metro Area All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
Geocaching Cache Icons, Copyright 2009, Groundspeak Inc. All rights reserved. Used with Permission.