MnGCA Home MnGCA
Minnesota Geocaching Association
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   User listUser list   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Garmin Nuvi 500 (HELP)

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MnGCA Forum Index -> Tech Talk
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
maznroll
Geocacher


Joined: 22 Jan 2009

Posts: 11

PostPosted: Mon Jul 27, 2009 9:57 pm    Post subject: Garmin Nuvi 500 (HELP) Reply with quote

My Nuvi 500 say's the communicator plugin is instaled and working, that I put in threw my P.C. but when I load a cache into the GPS,or pocket queries it say's it's not detecting a communicator plugin device. What can I do so the Nuvi 500 will except caches, and pocket queries? Maznroll

Last edited by maznroll on Wed Jul 29, 2009 12:41 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jam3s
Geocacher


Joined: 26 Oct 2008

Posts: 842

PostPosted: Mon Jul 27, 2009 10:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am not sure about the 500 series Nuvi, but I used the custom waypoint loader I believe. Here is the link.
_________________
~~ I was told all I needed was a GPS. I wanted everything else. ~~
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
knowschad
Geocacher


Joined: 20 Jun 2005

Posts: 471

PostPosted: Tue Jul 28, 2009 5:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ditto. I've never used the Communicator plug-in for my Nuvi. I use Garmin's POI Loader (along with the GSAK macro by PilotSnipes)
_________________
Alcohol & calculus don't mix. Don't drink & deriv
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
butcherandswimmer
Geocacher


Joined: 18 Apr 2008

Posts: 305

PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2009 7:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maznroll got his problem fixed thanks to garmin tech support. Thanks for helping
_________________
Animals taste good
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
minnesotabrad
Past MnGCA President


Joined: 03 Mar 2007

Posts: 1268

PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2009 7:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

butcherandswimmer wrote:
Maznroll got his problem fixed thanks to garmin tech support. Thanks for helping


Glad to hear! I think they have great tech support compared to others out there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Jam3s
Geocacher


Joined: 26 Oct 2008

Posts: 842

PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2009 8:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

butcherandswimmer wrote:
Maznroll got his problem fixed thanks to garmin tech support. Thanks for helping


What was the problem? I am wondering if their is a better way of doing it on a Nuvi since I have a Nuvi 765T
_________________
~~ I was told all I needed was a GPS. I wanted everything else. ~~
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Hipster
Geocacher


Joined: 06 Oct 2008

Posts: 259

PostPosted: Thu Dec 10, 2009 4:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jam3s wrote:
butcherandswimmer wrote:
Maznroll got his problem fixed thanks to garmin tech support. Thanks for helping


What was the problem? I am wondering if their is a better way of doing it on a Nuvi since I have a Nuvi 765T


GSAK: The best way I've found to populate Nuvi's is an export of all the caches you want in GSAK as one combined .GPX file onto your hard drive or memory stick. The slide the .GPX file straight to the Nuvi hooked to your PC w/USB cable. Just open up the Garmin/GPX folder & copy in the file. The method works darn well with Colorados & Oregons too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
X51hz
Geocacher


Joined: 04 Dec 2007

Posts: 218

PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2009 12:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Hipster wrote:
Jam3s wrote:
butcherandswimmer wrote:
Maznroll got his problem fixed thanks to garmin tech support. Thanks for helping


What was the problem? I am wondering if their is a better way of doing it on a Nuvi since I have a Nuvi 765T


GSAK: The best way I've found to populate Nuvi's is an export of all the caches you want in GSAK as one combined .GPX file onto your hard drive or memory stick. The slide the .GPX file straight to the Nuvi hooked to your PC w/USB cable. Just open up the Garmin/GPX folder & copy in the file. The method works darn well with Colorados & Oregons too.


this all I do with both the NUvi and the colorado but I just drag and drop the PQ files in after they are unzipped
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MnGCA Forum Index -> Tech Talk All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
Geocaching Cache Icons, Copyright 2009, Groundspeak Inc. All rights reserved. Used with Permission.