MnGCA Home MnGCA
Minnesota Geocaching Association
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   User listUser list   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Free Mapsource
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MnGCA Forum Index -> Tech Talk
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Dances With Beehives
Geocacher


Joined: 12 Sep 2003

Posts: 671

PostPosted: Tue Dec 01, 2009 3:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Not true. My old Garmin GPSMap 76 had only built-in memory and you could install/update maps.

Likewise with my Garmin V
_________________
...formerly 'dachebo'.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Pear Head
Past MnGCA President


Joined: 04 Apr 2004

Posts: 5692

PostPosted: Tue Dec 01, 2009 3:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I stand corrected.
_________________
Hmm...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
EPMinnesota
Past MnGCA Board


Joined: 13 Apr 2006

Posts: 1942

PostPosted: Tue Dec 01, 2009 9:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is an Etrex Vista. Just the plain old Vista. He just has used it for hunting and hasn't needed it for anything else so it has worked for him. He's interested in caching and hoping to be able to use it to get him started even though it doesn't have "geocaching" icons, etc. He does need some maps though!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
speedysk1
Past MnGCA Board


Joined: 29 Oct 2007

Posts: 1991

PostPosted: Tue Dec 01, 2009 9:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

EPMinnesota wrote:
This is an Etrex Vista. Just the plain old Vista. He just has used it for hunting and hasn't needed it for anything else so it has worked for him. He's interested in caching and hoping to be able to use it to get him started even though it doesn't have "geocaching" icons, etc. He does need some maps though!


According to Garmin it should have base maps loaded on it. But it also notes that it does have the ability to have maps added to it.

https://buy.garmin.com/shop/shop.do?pID=163#specsTab
_________________
Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EPMinnesota
Past MnGCA Board


Joined: 13 Apr 2006

Posts: 1942

PostPosted: Tue Dec 01, 2009 9:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It has very little on it. It's gray/black which would drive me crazy but it only has major roads on it. I must not be doing something quite right to get some street maps on it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pear Head
Past MnGCA President


Joined: 04 Apr 2004

Posts: 5692

PostPosted: Tue Dec 01, 2009 9:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

EPMinnesota wrote:
He does need some maps though!


I found my first thousand or more with a Geko. It had no maps, not even a base map or cities. Smile
_________________
Hmm...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
EPMinnesota
Past MnGCA Board


Joined: 13 Apr 2006

Posts: 1942

PostPosted: Tue Dec 01, 2009 10:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found my first hundred with a Lowrance Igo. AWFUL! I can't imagine how I made it through. That's why I found so few my first year though! For my 1st anniversary I got my current Venture CX and with adding streetmaps I'm fine with it. I think it's really tough without streetmaps and I sure wasted a lot of time without them! The guy I'm trying to upgrade for saw me add maps to a 60cx for someone else and asked if I could do the same!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
speedysk1
Past MnGCA Board


Joined: 29 Oct 2007

Posts: 1991

PostPosted: Tue Dec 01, 2009 11:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

EPMinnesota wrote:
It has very little on it. It's gray/black which would drive me crazy but it only has major roads on it. I must not be doing something quite right to get some street maps on it.


No, your fine and not doing anything wrong. That's all the base maps are. Just the "major" roads and they aren't that accurate. You can't autoroute with them either.

Good Luck.
_________________
Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hayward Cheezehead
Geocacher


Joined: 29 Oct 2006

Posts: 32

PostPosted: Tue Dec 01, 2009 11:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You do need Mapsource but you can use these maps in your Gramin.
I have it download into my 60CSx along with, Garmin Topo and City Navigator. It gives more detail and also shows benchmarks.
http://www.gpsfiledepot.com/maps/view/153/

I dont have all off Wi or Mn or Upper Mi loaded but my gps say's it's 4% full with 1861 MB free and 85.59 mb used
and I did replace my micro card with a 2 GB card
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Arcticabn
Past MnGCA Board


Joined: 30 Nov 2003

Posts: 1846

PostPosted: Wed Dec 02, 2009 8:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here is my list of FREE map sources. There are entire sets of routable maps for the US States on some of these websites. They might not be as good as City Navigator, but they surely will do the job. And yes there are ways to load the maps directly into the GPSr without using Mapsource.

If you don't know how to load free maps here is a web site that explains it.
http://freegeographytools.com/2007/adding-garmin-img-files-to-mapsource

Use this site to do a search for maps. Just click on the location you want.
http://gpsmapsearch.com/

Here is a pretty good source for a whole host of countries:
http://home.wtal.de/noegs/freemaps.htm

Here is another good site for finding maps:
http://mapcenter.cgpsmapper.com//

Topos for all of France
http://www.katzforums.com/showthread.php?t=55919

Caribbean Map Project: GPS Maps for Central America and Caribbean
http://rwsmaps.griffel.se/

Proyecto Map Ear: GPS Map for Argentina. Very detailed!
http://viajerosmapas.com/actualiza.htm

Topos of the UK and Scotland
http://www.smc.org.uk/ContourMaps.htm

Another site with various countries listed.
http://www.mousetrap.net/~mouse/gps/maps.html
_________________
Airborne All the Way!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
qwerty2582
Past MnGCA Board


Joined: 03 Apr 2009

Posts: 458

PostPosted: Wed Dec 02, 2009 7:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This one pulls data from openstreetmap.org and creates the .img files to drop directly onto your Garmin. I used it over the Thanksgiving weekend caching, and it worked great!! If you're looking for street maps, I'd definitely recommend it.

http://garmin.na1400.info/routable.php
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MnGCA Forum Index -> Tech Talk All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
Geocaching Cache Icons, Copyright 2009, Groundspeak Inc. All rights reserved. Used with Permission.