MnGCA Home MnGCA
Minnesota Geocaching Association
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   User listUser list   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Not seeing much for Magellan tiopics...
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MnGCA Forum Index -> Tech Talk
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
minnesotabrad
Past MnGCA President


Joined: 03 Mar 2007

Posts: 1267

PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2009 1:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

casinoman wrote:
Dude I want one of those path tags.
Hook a guy up man Cool Cool Cool


Once you buy a Garmin we will see what we can do. Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
joboo
Geocacher


Joined: 18 Jan 2008

Posts: 182

PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2009 1:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

minnesotabrad wrote:
casinoman wrote:
Dude I want one of those path tags.
Hook a guy up man Cool Cool Cool


Once you buy a Garmin we will see what we can do. Laughing
i own 3 Garmins. Very Happy that's a cool tag!
_________________
Don't be Bitter, Reconsider!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
casinoman
Geocacher


Joined: 26 Mar 2008

Posts: 383

PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2009 1:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

minnesotabrad wrote:
casinoman wrote:
Dude I want one of those path tags.
Hook a guy up man Cool Cool Cool


Once you buy a Garmin we will see what we can do. Laughing


Wow and I thought I had friends back there. Rolling Eyes
_________________
---------------------------------------------------
I may grow old, But I will never grow up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
X51hz
Geocacher


Joined: 04 Dec 2007

Posts: 218

PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2009 2:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

minnesotabrad wrote:
casinoman wrote:
Cool
I try to stay away from the dark side.


Why?...We have cookies. Very Happy




And Bags of candy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
IanNMissy
Geocacher


Joined: 24 Apr 2009

Posts: 69

PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2009 1:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That Path tag is really cool. Very Happy I've found that other than the Garmin not locking onto roads, and showing me 100 or so feet off the road, it works pretty well. Marks me right at home, and forward / back it's accurate, just seems to show me off to the left or right depending on what direction I'm driving. Is this a known issue? I'm not getting much help at geocaching.com forums. It's a rather concerning thing, especially if I'm thinking of getting the MN 24k maps with the streets and such...

Other note - will the Garmin use an SD card larger than 2Gb? some say yes, others say no. I've got a 4Gb and Mapsource sees the whole thing, but that just might be a vista thing..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LucidOndine
Past MnGCA President


Joined: 17 Jan 2006

Posts: 1931

PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2009 1:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

IanNMissy wrote:
That Path tag is really cool. Very Happy I've found that other than the Garmin not locking onto roads, and showing me 100 or so feet off the road, it works pretty well. Marks me right at home, and forward / back it's accurate, just seems to show me off to the left or right depending on what direction I'm driving. Is this a known issue? I'm not getting much help at geocaching.com forums. It's a rather concerning thing, especially if I'm thinking of getting the MN 24k maps with the streets and such...

Other note - will the Garmin use an SD card larger than 2Gb? some say yes, others say no. I've got a 4Gb and Mapsource sees the whole thing, but that just might be a vista thing..

The situation is that your Garmin is far more accurate than your base maps are. Once you plop the full mapset onto it, you'll be locking onto roads in no time!

I personally use a 2GB card; You can get the 4Gb cards to work, but it depends on the chip density (arrangement of the individual blocks of memory). One 2GB card for all of North America and one 2 GB card for topo maps for the better 2/3rds of North America. Switch as needed Cool
_________________
The Lucid Network (tm)-- More Bars in More Places!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Draconisdax
Geocacher


Joined: 02 Nov 2007

Posts: 982

PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2009 2:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

casinoman wrote:
minnesotabrad wrote:
casinoman wrote:
Dude I want one of those path tags.
Hook a guy up man Cool Cool Cool


Once you buy a Garmin we will see what we can do. Laughing


Wow and I thought I had friends back there. Rolling Eyes


There is a reason we call him OregonBrad Wink
_________________
You may only be young once...but I will be immature forever!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
speedysk1
Past MnGCA Board


Joined: 29 Oct 2007

Posts: 1991

PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2009 2:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

LucidOndine wrote:
The situation is that your Garmin is far more accurate than your base maps are. Once you plop the full mapset onto it, you'll be locking onto roads in no time!

I personally use a 2GB card; You can get the 4Gb cards to work, but it depends on the chip density (arrangement of the individual blocks of memory). One 2GB card for all of North America and one 2 GB card for topo maps for the better 2/3rds of North America. Switch as needed Cool


Yep what he said. I noticed the same thing. The base maps just aren't as accurate. Also when you install the road maps you can tell the gps to lock on roads, but it's not needed.

As for the card. I have a 4 gb card in my 60csx and don't have any issues. Just be sure you get the updated firmware. I have read mixed results when going above 4 gb. I have lots of maps, topo, trails, streets, custom and all my poi files/waypoints and it's only about half full. However, it's more than the 2gb card I originally was using.

Good Luck!
_________________
Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
IanNMissy
Geocacher


Joined: 24 Apr 2009

Posts: 69

PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2009 10:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not using the basemap. I'm using Topo 2008 maps, and I figured they should be pretty accurate, no? It seems like the unit drifts off the 'road' on the map, then tried to corect when the road turns and such. But I'd have to say this - It is very consistent on the tracks that it puts me on. I ran the same roads today up and down a few times, and the tracks didn't deviate much at all. That does tell me the unit is consistent if nothing else. And I was getting really good satellite signal too. Lots of satellites in view with good signal.

As far as the memory card - The firmware is up to date, and I'm going to have to rebuild my map databases I think.. I have more than enough room to put all of topo 2008 on one card other than Alaska and Hawaii. May need to split by east / west of the river? Will the unit keep both mapsets loaded?

Lots of questions, I know. So much more with these Garmins to use / learn.. I guess it'll last me longer before I need to upgrade. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LucidOndine
Past MnGCA President


Joined: 17 Jan 2006

Posts: 1931

PostPosted: Wed May 06, 2009 12:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

IanNMissy wrote:
I'm not using the basemap. I'm using Topo 2008 maps, and I figured they should be pretty accurate, no?
No. Cool
_________________
The Lucid Network (tm)-- More Bars in More Places!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
speedysk1
Past MnGCA Board


Joined: 29 Oct 2007

Posts: 1991

PostPosted: Wed May 06, 2009 10:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

LucidOndine wrote:
IanNMissy wrote:
I'm not using the basemap. I'm using Topo 2008 maps, and I figured they should be pretty accurate, no?
No. Cool


Yep, what he said. Razz Man I gotta stop doing that. Wink

None of the non-routeable maps that I've seen are that good. I know there are some out there that have used the open maps, but I haven't had good luck with them either. They aren't too bad, and are getting better, but I don't think they are still as good as the maps you have to buy from Garmin directly.

As for your card and multiple map sets, I can only speak for my 60csx, but I'm pretty sure it's the same for you. I have multiple maps on it. You can't toggle them as nicely as the Oregons, (Yes, Brad, I gave the Oregon a compliment Wink ), but you still can do it. I have many maps loaded. I have some trail maps, road maps and topo maps. They are all on by default and you can turn them off, but it's can be a pain if you have lots of maps you are trying to toggle. I just leave them all on.
_________________
Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
IanNMissy
Geocacher


Joined: 24 Apr 2009

Posts: 69

PostPosted: Wed May 06, 2009 11:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok.. I may have to spend some time to recreate my map sets then.. I was reading in the worthless manual that I can enter waypoints manually? I searched every menu and option and can't for the life of me find where to do this.. I know it should be something easily found... And ideas? (I'm not stupid.. at least I don't think I am..)

I had created some maps for my T300 using a couple utilities, and they were very accurate, but non-routable. zoomed in enough, you could damn near tell what lane you were in. Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
IanNMissy
Geocacher


Joined: 24 Apr 2009

Posts: 69

PostPosted: Wed May 06, 2009 12:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Before y'all think I'm a complete idiot.. I went and Grabbes the CS60 manual from garmin.. got the waypoint issue handled.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pear Head
Past MnGCA President


Joined: 04 Apr 2004

Posts: 5697

PostPosted: Wed May 06, 2009 2:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hold down the enter key for a few seconds.
_________________
Hmm...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
IanNMissy
Geocacher


Joined: 24 Apr 2009

Posts: 69

PostPosted: Wed May 06, 2009 10:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have to say, the Vista manual sucks really, really bad. The pictures are nice, and the descriptions they do give are decent. But it lacks a lot of basic info, like manually entering waypoints. At ~60 pages you'd expect more, but it's pretty big font to make it easy to read for the geezers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MnGCA Forum Index -> Tech Talk All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 3 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
Geocaching Cache Icons, Copyright 2009, Groundspeak Inc. All rights reserved. Used with Permission.