MnGCA Home MnGCA
Minnesota Geocaching Association
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   User listUser list   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Not seeing much for Magellan tiopics...
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MnGCA Forum Index -> Tech Talk
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
IanNMissy
Geocacher


Joined: 24 Apr 2009

Posts: 69

PostPosted: Sun Apr 26, 2009 10:43 pm    Post subject: Not seeing much for Magellan tiopics... Reply with quote

First off, hello, my name is Ian, and I'm new here. Wink I've got a Triton 300 and yeah, it's gotten MUCH better since it was released, at least based on what I've read. For the few out there who don't know, www.tritonforum.com is an amazing resource.

Second, I haven't seen any real discussion about whether you all go through the trouble of creating maps, or do your Garmin topo packages pretty much give you the sat/topo images you need?

I've been having a hard time getting good data for a Ft. Snelling map with enough detail for trails, etc.. Anyone with a Magellan happen to have a .rmp map of that area? I am slowly learning how tomake effective maps for my own uses through a few different tools, I'm just not seeing much sharing going on for those who're local...

*edited for topic typo*
edit by PH for an objectionable word
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pear Head
Past MnGCA President


Joined: 04 Apr 2004

Posts: 5676
Location: north of Duluth

PostPosted: Mon Apr 27, 2009 10:02 am    Post subject: Re: Not seeing much for Magellan tiopics... Reply with quote

IanNMissy wrote:
Second, I haven't seen any real discussion about whether you all go through the trouble of creating maps, or do your Garmin topo packages pretty much give you the sat/topo images you need?


For me the Garmin maps serve the need, although there is a discussion somewhere in here about rolling your own maps...
_________________
Hmm...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
Arcticabn
Past MnGCA Board


Joined: 30 Nov 2003

Posts: 1846
Location: Lakeville, MN

PostPosted: Mon Apr 27, 2009 11:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is a rabid Garmin vs. Magellen discussion many of WNC.

As far as creating you own maps. Well by the time I create my own map I've already gone out and found the cache. Basic maps, direction and distance is all you need to geocache (not even the maps really).

Plenty of good threads out there on how to create maps, just haven't seen many (or any) here on the MnGCA threads.

Just remember when searching for a geocache with a Magellen, search 50' to the Eas of where your at. Most likely that is where you will find the cache hidden by a Garmin user.
_________________
Airborne All the Way!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ArcherDragoon
Geocacher


Joined: 02 Nov 2007

Posts: 976
Location: Southeastern Minnesota

PostPosted: Mon Apr 27, 2009 11:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Arcticabn wrote:
There is a rabid Garmin vs. Magellen discussion many of WNC.

As far as creating you own maps. Well by the time I create my own map I've already gone out and found the cache. Basic maps, direction and distance is all you need to geocache (not even the maps really).

Plenty of good threads out there on how to create maps, just haven't seen many (or any) here on the MnGCA threads.

Just remember when searching for a geocache with a Magellen, search 50' to the Eas of where your at. Most likely that is where you will find the cache hidden by a Garmin user.


And...if searching for a cache hidden by a Magellen user...search 50' to the West!!!
_________________
You may only be young once...but I will be immature forever!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
casinoman
Geocacher


Joined: 26 Mar 2008

Posts: 382

PostPosted: Mon Apr 27, 2009 12:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As you can see IanNMissy all you will get from thease guys is guff Laughing Laughing They all LOVE the Garmin. I have 3 Magellens. 2 500's and 1 300.
The 500 comes with a program for down loads. With this program you just click the caches you want plug in the GPS and drag there they are. Im not at home so I can't tell you the program but it seems to work ok on the 500 but as the 300 has no cable hook up it dose not work.

I love my 300 and that is the one I use most of all. Yes I put in the caches manualy but that is not hard. And it seems to get me whare I want to bee. And on many WNC nights I was first in the group to find.

Dont let thease guys get to you I think it is just Magellen envy. Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy

But hey they are all great people. and very helpful.
_________________
---------------------------------------------------
I may grow old, But I will never grow up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LucidOndine
Past MnGCA President


Joined: 17 Jan 2006

Posts: 1931
Location: Under Some Rock

PostPosted: Mon Apr 27, 2009 2:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ArcherDragoon wrote:
And...if searching for a cache hidden by a Magellen user...search 50' to the West!!!

50 feet if you're lucky. Last I saw casinoman, he headed to WNC in Minneapolis. He got hopelessly lost, gave up and decided to set up home at GZ... North Dakota Smile
_________________
The Lucid Network (tm)-- More Bars in More Places!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
X51hz
Geocacher


Joined: 04 Dec 2007

Posts: 218

PostPosted: Mon Apr 27, 2009 3:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There are other manufactures of gPsr's other than Garmin? Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GeoPierce
Geocacher


Joined: 16 Nov 2005

Posts: 1657
Location: Eden Prairie, MN

PostPosted: Mon Apr 27, 2009 3:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

X51hz wrote:
There are other manufactures of gPsr's other than Garmin? Wink

Not that I know of! Cool
_________________
Tupperware doesn't belong in the kitchen!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
MN_Cavepeople
Geocacher


Joined: 02 Feb 2005

Posts: 369

PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2009 8:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What's a Magellan?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
casinoman
Geocacher


Joined: 26 Mar 2008

Posts: 382

PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2009 8:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

MN_Cavepeople wrote:
What's a Magellan?


A much better GPS than a how do you say g@^$in.
Laughing Laughing Laughing
_________________
---------------------------------------------------
I may grow old, But I will never grow up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
timewellspent
Geocacher


Joined: 19 Mar 2008

Posts: 697
Location: Chanhassen, MN

PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2009 9:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

MN_Cavepeople wrote:
What's a Magellan?


I think that's how you feel after you put in those shoe inserts Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
IanNMissy
Geocacher


Joined: 24 Apr 2009

Posts: 69

PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2009 9:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've been learning more and more about my Magellan unit.. The 300 DOES have a connection to connect to the Vantage Point Software. (Magellan's own proprietary stuff) And my unit came with the USB cable.

I guess my biggest thing with the maps is I like to know where in the park I am or whatever, I like to have a visual reference, and it's helpful to see on a map where the coords are.. I was out yesterday and had 2 DNFs, partly because I wasn't looking for the right size cache, but also I think maybe I wasn't looking in the right places... I know I was within 50 feet or so, so it was a little frustrating.

I'm hoping for the NatGeo explorer maps for Fathers' day, so we'll see what they bring to the table...

As far as entering coords go, I just get the .loc files from geocaching.com and load them into my unit. No paper, just pick the cache you want and go!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bflentje
Geocacher


Joined: 29 May 2006

Posts: 3972

PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2009 9:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I believe Magellan is getting out of the GPS business.. or was it the handheld GPS business. Also, my biggest gripe about Magellans, besides inaccuracy [Wink] that is, is the rechargable battery. While it sounds cool, how many spare rechargable batteries you carrying when in the BWCA or some other remote location? My supply of AA batteries is dependent only on the amount I can stuff in my pockets.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Arcticabn
Past MnGCA Board


Joined: 30 Nov 2003

Posts: 1846
Location: Lakeville, MN

PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2009 10:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

IanNMissy wrote:
I've been learning more and more about my Magellan unit.. The 300 DOES have a connection to connect to the Vantage Point Software. (Magellan's own proprietary stuff) And my unit came with the USB cable.

I guess my biggest thing with the maps is I like to know where in the park I am or whatever, I like to have a visual reference, and it's helpful to see on a map where the coords are.. I was out yesterday and had 2 DNFs, partly because I wasn't looking for the right size cache, but also I think maybe I wasn't looking in the right places... I know I was within 50 feet or so, so it was a little frustrating.

I'm hoping for the NatGeo explorer maps for Fathers' day, so we'll see what they bring to the table...

As far as entering coords go, I just get the .loc files from geocaching.com and load them into my unit. No paper, just pick the cache you want and go!


If you were within 50' you were within the accuracy range of GPSr in general. You have to remember that the GPSr is not a precision navigation unit. Moreover, you are also fighting againt two different units. The inaccuracy of the unit from the individual that placed the cache and the inaccuracy of your unit. Both of which may be accurate at the time, date, and weather conditions, but both will show different coords for the exact same spot.

This is a game of not only using the GPSr to get you to the general area, but thinking like a cacher and finding the hide of the little bugger. If you rely solely on your GPSr you are going to have a lot of DNFs. Crying or Very sad
_________________
Airborne All the Way!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ArcherDragoon
Geocacher


Joined: 02 Nov 2007

Posts: 976
Location: Southeastern Minnesota

PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2009 10:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Arcticabn wrote:
If you rely solely on your GPSr you are going to have a lot of DNFs. Crying or Very sad


Very True...
_________________
You may only be young once...but I will be immature forever!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MnGCA Forum Index -> Tech Talk All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 1 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
Geocaching Cache Icons, Copyright 2009, Groundspeak Inc. All rights reserved. Used with Permission.