MnGCA Home MnGCA
Minnesota Geocaching Association
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   User listUser list   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Website to help you find Parking coords
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MnGCA Forum Index -> Tech Talk
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
sir_zman
Past MnGCA Board


Joined: 30 Jun 2005

Posts: 1761
Location: Twin Cities

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 2:25 pm    Post subject: Website to help you find Parking coords Reply with quote

I have been developing a site that I use to help with parking for when I take caching trips. It has other applications as well, but this is great if you want to quickly find a parking lot near a cache and get the lat/long for it.

The coords are all in degree decimal format, which for anyone who uses GSAk will be ok, because it will convert it for you. If there is serious demand I can probably write some code to display degree minute-decimal (hh dd.nnnn) format somewhere on the screen.

Here's how it works.

Go here:
http://www.sirzman.com/gc/llf.cfm

move the map around to the area you want, then zoom in a bit and switch over to hybrid mode.

Press the "Set Pin Here" button and the pin will be placed in the center of the screen.

Click on the pin and drag it to the spot on the map that has the area you want to park at. (notice that a little x is below the pin, use this to know exactly where the pin will be dropped).

When you release your mouse button the pin will drop and the lat/long will change at the top of the screen, thus giving you exact parking coords.

I take the "Combo" coords and make a "child waypoint" in GSAK label it parking and past them in there, gsak does the rest, when I upload that cache to my gps, the parking coords go with it. (this works best with version 7 of GSAK).

Hope people find this useful.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
GeoPierce
Geocacher


Joined: 16 Nov 2005

Posts: 1657
Location: Eden Prairie, MN

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 2:36 pm    Post subject: Re: Website to help you find Parking coords Reply with quote

sir_zman wrote:
I have been developing a site that I use to help with parking for when I take caching trips. It has other applications as well, but this is great if you want to quickly find a parking lot near a cache and get the lat/long for it.

You should integrate it with the Garmin Communicator Plugin used on geocaching.com to give users the option to save the coordinates directly to their GPS.

http://www.garmin.com/products/communicator/

http://developer.garmin.com/web-device/garmin-communicator-plugin/devicedisplay/send-waypoint/
_________________
Tupperware doesn't belong in the kitchen!


Last edited by GeoPierce on Thu Aug 09, 2007 2:38 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
sir_zman
Past MnGCA Board


Joined: 30 Jun 2005

Posts: 1761
Location: Twin Cities

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 2:37 pm    Post subject: Re: Website to help you find Parking coords Reply with quote

GeoPierce wrote:
You should integrate it with the Garmin Communicator Plugin used on geocaching.com to give users the option to save the coordinates directly to their GPS.

http://www.garmin.com/products/communicator/


Good idea. I'll look into that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
KC0GRN
Past MnGCA Board


Joined: 22 Feb 2004

Posts: 1424

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 3:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for sharing. I've had other ways of doing the same thing, but they're a tad more tedious.

I wish ask.com was a little more friendly with their API stuff, as I find their aerial imagery a little better.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sir_zman
Past MnGCA Board


Joined: 30 Jun 2005

Posts: 1761
Location: Twin Cities

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 3:27 pm    Post subject: Re: Website to help you find Parking coords Reply with quote

GeoPierce wrote:


http://developer.garmin.com/web-device/garmin-communicator-plugin/devicedisplay/send-waypoint/


Even with that link, they don't make it easy; well I suppose if I was a programmer rather than a DBA, it might seem easier, but their code isn't as straight forward as it seems, they embed the code that creates the button you click on in a js file..I'd prefer to just have a simple input type=button tag that calls the stuff needed to send the coord. also I need to figure out how to change the waypoint type (icon). may be a while before this is implemented.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
GeoPierce
Geocacher


Joined: 16 Nov 2005

Posts: 1657
Location: Eden Prairie, MN

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 3:34 pm    Post subject: Re: Website to help you find Parking coords Reply with quote

sir_zman wrote:
GeoPierce wrote:


http://developer.garmin.com/web-device/garmin-communicator-plugin/devicedisplay/send-waypoint/


Even with that link, they don't make it easy; well I suppose if I was a programmer rather than a DBA, it might seem easier, but their code isn't as straight forward as it seems, they embed the code that creates the button you click on in a js file..I'd prefer to just have a simple input type=button tag that calls the stuff needed to send the coord. also I need to figure out how to change the waypoint type (icon). may be a while before this is implemented.

You don't need a .js file. Just put the code inside some <javascript> tags.
_________________
Tupperware doesn't belong in the kitchen!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
RubberToes
Geocacher


Joined: 13 Feb 2005

Posts: 222
Location: Apple Valley

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 4:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nice idea, zman. Thanks for posting that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CamoCacher
Geocacher


Joined: 05 Dec 2005

Posts: 1391

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 4:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nice, when you mark it as parking do you put part of the caches name too?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sir_zman
Past MnGCA Board


Joined: 30 Jun 2005

Posts: 1761
Location: Twin Cities

PostPosted: Fri Aug 10, 2007 8:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

CamoCacher wrote:
Nice, when you mark it as parking do you put part of the caches name too?


When I put it in GSAK I set the "Code" to the same thing as the waypoint (GC) name except I replace the GC with PK...so GCTTVF Becomes PKTTVF then in the "Description" I put "Home of the green hornet parking"


Last edited by sir_zman on Fri Aug 10, 2007 11:06 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
CamoCacher
Geocacher


Joined: 05 Dec 2005

Posts: 1391

PostPosted: Fri Aug 10, 2007 10:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sir_zman wrote:
CamoCacher wrote:
Nice, when you mark it as parking do you put part of the caches name too?


When I put it in GSAK I set to the "Code" to the same thing as the waypoint (GC) name except I replace the GC with PK...so GCTTVF Becomes PKTTVF then in the "Description" I put "Home of the green hornet parking"


Thanks. I like that. I know right now when I put in a download to GSAK sometimes it just says parking and then I don't know which cache it is always for.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KC0GRN
Past MnGCA Board


Joined: 22 Feb 2004

Posts: 1424

PostPosted: Fri Aug 10, 2007 11:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Out of curiosity, is there any reason the map height is set to only 500?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sir_zman
Past MnGCA Board


Joined: 30 Jun 2005

Posts: 1761
Location: Twin Cities

PostPosted: Fri Aug 10, 2007 12:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

KC0GRN wrote:
Out of curiosity, is there any reason the map height is set to only 500?


You mean when you first load the page, why is the map zoomed in as far as it is?

I just picked a zoom level that covered most of the twin cities. If you zoom in one more level, you can't see the entire 694/494 loop.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
GeoPierce
Geocacher


Joined: 16 Nov 2005

Posts: 1657
Location: Eden Prairie, MN

PostPosted: Fri Aug 10, 2007 12:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sir_zman wrote:
KC0GRN wrote:
Out of curiosity, is there any reason the map height is set to only 500?

You mean when you first load the page, why is the map zoomed in as far as it is?

I just picked a zoom level that covered most of the twin cities. If you zoom in one more level, you can't see the entire 694/494 loop.

No, he means the height of the map in pixels. The page automatically sizes to the width of your screen but is always 500 pixel high.

<div id="map" style="height: 500px">
_________________
Tupperware doesn't belong in the kitchen!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
sir_zman
Past MnGCA Board


Joined: 30 Jun 2005

Posts: 1761
Location: Twin Cities

PostPosted: Fri Aug 10, 2007 12:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

GeoPierce wrote:
No, he means the height of the map in pixels.

<div id="map" style="height: 500px">


Ahh, that, well, for some reason you can't set it to 100%, so I had to pick a height, I thought hat if someone had their resolution set to 800x600 that 500 would keep it from going below the bottom of the screen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
GeoPierce
Geocacher


Joined: 16 Nov 2005

Posts: 1657
Location: Eden Prairie, MN

PostPosted: Fri Aug 10, 2007 12:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sir_zman wrote:
GeoPierce wrote:
No, he means the height of the map in pixels.

<div id="map" style="height: 500px">


Ahh, that, well, for some reason you can't set it to 100%, so I had to pick a height, I thought hat if someone had their resolution set to 800x600 that 500 would keep it from going below the bottom of the screen.

What does it do if you don't specify a height?

<div id="map">
_________________
Tupperware doesn't belong in the kitchen!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MnGCA Forum Index -> Tech Talk All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
Geocaching Cache Icons, Copyright 2009, Groundspeak Inc. All rights reserved. Used with Permission.